Nominations open for PM's Prizes for Science

By LabOnline Staff
Tuesday, 14 March, 2017


Nominations are now open for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science, celebrating Australia’s achievements in scientific research, research-based innovation and excellence in science teaching.

Now in their 17th year, the prizes celebrate the achievements and successes of Australian scientists, teachers and innovators in Australia and abroad. Nominees vie for a share of $750,000 in seven prize categories, including two innovation prizes recognising researchers whose knowledge has directly benefited Australia’s economy:

  • The Prime Minister’s Prize for Science ($250,000).
  • The Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation ($250,000).
  • The Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year ($50,000).
  • The Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year ($50,000).
  • The Prize for New Innovators ($50,000).
  • The Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools ($50,000) shared between the recipient and their school).
  • The Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools ($50,000) shared between the recipient and their school).

Last year’s recipient of the $250,000 Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation, Professor Michael Aitken, developed services that help make global stock markets fairer and more efficient through rapid analysis to detect fraud in markets and systems. His services have also been applied to identifying billion-dollar frauds and inefficiencies in Australia’s health markets.

The Prime Minister’s Prize for Science meanwhile pays tribute to the contributions Australian scientists have made in Australia and globally, and acknowledges benefits and value of their work to the public good. The 2016 prize went to evolutionary biologist Professor Richard Shine for his work to ensure Northern Australia’s snakes and lizards are more likely to survive the cane toad invasion.

Prize recipients will meet leaders in science, industry, education and government at an awards dinner in the Great Hall of Parliament House, Canberra. They will also receive national recognition alongside previous winners including Professor Michael Aitken, Dr Colin Hall, Professor Graeme Jameson and Ian Frazer.

For eligibility, selection criteria, nomination guidelines or nomination forms, visit or call 13 28 46. Nominations close on 12 April at 5 pm AEST.

Related News

Sirtex penalised for alleged continuous disclosure breach

Sirtex Medical has paid a penalty of $100,000 after the Australian Securities and Investments...

WA neurologist appointed president of the World Federation of Neurology

Professor William Carroll, a multiple sclerosis clinician and researcher at Western...

ComBio2017 to be held in Adelaide next month

ComBio2017 — the combined meeting of the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular...

  • All content Copyright © 2017 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd