One-third of ATSE's new Fellows are women

Thursday, 12 October, 2017

The Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE) has elected 25 new Fellows for 2017, including key business leaders and academics, prominent commercial innovators, professional and business leaders and respected public sector figures.

The new Fellows come from a wide array of sectors and specialisations, including renewable energy, robotic vision, transport, aquaculture, materials science, health, engineering, vaccine development, academia, minerals processing, defence science, minerals, contamination remediation, biotechnology, geophysics, biomedical research, telecommunications and science communication. Eleven are from Victoria, seven are from NSW, five are from Queensland and two are from the ACT.

The academy has additionally elected a Foreign Fellow, Dr Ya-Qin Zhang, a world-renowned scientist and innovation leader in digital video and internet technology.

Nine of the new Fellows elected to ATSE are women, which is in line with the academy’s goal to elect one-third of new Fellows from female candidates. ATSE is a proud advocate for gender equity, having co-launched the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) program together with the Australian Academy of Science back in September 2015. Last month saw the Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS), Geoscience Australia, Murdoch University and the University of Adelaide join the program, bringing the total number of participating organisations up to 44.

To view the full list of new Fellows, visit the ATSE website.

Related News

Insights into Australia's clinical trial activity

A new report has revealed favourable insights into clinical trials in Australia, where more than...

Australian Government permits medicinal cannabis exports

The Australian Government has announced that it will permit the export of medicinal cannabis...

Merck signs global distribution agreement with Avanti Polar Lipids

Merck has entered into an agreement with Avanti Polar Lipids to be the exclusive multinational...

  • All content Copyright © 2018 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd