Remarkable medical researchers recognised by NHMRC

Friday, 15 March, 2019

Remarkable medical researchers recognised by NHMRC

The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) has once again held its annual Research Excellence Awards, this year honouring 23 of the most outstanding researchers in Australia today.

Each year, NHMRC recognises excellence in the health and medical research sector by celebrating individual achievements, leadership and the exceptional contributions of Australian scientists to their fields of research. The 2019 event also includes NHMRC’s Biennial Awards.

“The Biennial Awards acknowledge outstanding contributions to NHMRC, leadership in research ethics, and the aesthetic beauty of science through the Science to Art Award for an image produced through NHMRC-funded research,” said NHMRC CEO Professor Anne Kelso AO.

“This year also sees the introduction of the Consumer Engagement Award to recognise long-term contribution and commitment to representing consumer and community needs in health and medical research.”

The inaugural recipient of this award is Dr Michelle Banfield from the Centre for Mental Health Research at The Australian National University. The award recognises Dr Banfield’s leadership in the development of best practice in consumer and community involvement in research, which has directly influenced how mental health services are delivered within the community.

In addition to the Biennial Awards, 20 Research Excellence Awards were announced. These awards go to the researchers whose grant applications were ranked highest by their peers during NHMRC’s highly competitive peer review process.

Among those honoured was Dr Steven Wise, who received the Marshall and Warren Award — an award that recognises the most innovative research project that could change the way an illness or disease is diagnosed, treated or prevented. A bioengineer at The Heart Research Institute and Clinical Senior Lecturer at the Central Clinical School of the University of Sydney, Dr Wise has spent a decade working in multidisciplinary research developing improved implantable vascular devices and tissue-mimicking biomaterials.

“The award recipients are undertaking research that ranges from the laboratory bench to the clinic and the community, building our understanding of health and disease, and developing new approaches to disease prevention, diagnosis and treatment,” said Prof Kelso.

“I congratulate each of you and thank you for your contribution to the future health of our community.”

For the full list of awardees, visit

Image credit: ©

Please follow us and share on Twitter and Facebook. You can also subscribe for FREE to our weekly newsletters and bimonthly magazine.

Related News

New agreement to accelerate nutrition testing worldwide

Trajan Nutrition has signed an MOU with the South Australian Health and Medical Research...

Abcam purchases assets from Applied StemCell

Abcam has announced the asset purchase of the gene editing platform and oncology product...

Aussie astronomer Lisa Kewley wins James Craig Watson Medal

Professor Lisa Kewley has been awarded the 2020 James Craig Watson Medal by the US National...

  • All content Copyright © 2020 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd