Robotics expert selected as NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer

Thursday, 31 May, 2018

Robotics expert selected as NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer

The NSW Government has announced the appointment of world-renowned robotics expert Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte as the next NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Minister for Trade and Industry Niall Blair said Professor Durrant-Whyte, currently Chief Scientific Adviser for the UK Ministry of Defence, would start in the role on 3 September.

“Professor Durrant-Whyte is a globally recognised figure who brings vast knowledge and experience to the role,” Berejiklian said.

“He is a pioneer in autonomous robotics who is known for his work in delivering automated container terminals at Port Botany, and he has also been involved in developing autonomous solutions for mine sites.”

Blair added that the appointment of Professor Durrant-Whyte will ensure NSW continues to lead the world in the development of new applications in robotics and artificial intelligence.

“Professor Durrant-Whyte is tasked with drawing together business, research and government to drive innovation in the state, while also providing independent advice,” he said.

“I would also like to acknowledge Professor Mary O’Kane, who made an enormous contribution during her nine years as the NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer.”

Professor Durrant-Whyte was recently director of the Centre for Translational Data Science at the University of Sydney, formerly chair of the NSW Government’s Innovation and Productivity Council and formerly head of National ICT Australia, now CSIRO’s Data61.

He has won numerous awards for his work, including being named the 2010 NSW Scientist of the Year.

Image caption: Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte, the next NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer.

Originally published here.

Related News

Astrophysicist and Women in STEM Ambassador joins UNSW

Australia's first ambassador for Women in STEM, astrophysicist Professor Lisa Harvey-Smith,...

$40 million distributed under CRC-P Program

Minister for Industry, Science and Technology Karen Andrews has announced the results of the...

Experts appointed to National Science and Technology Advisory Council

Six of Australia's most prominent scientists, including a Nobel Prize winner, have been...

  • All content Copyright © 2019 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd