Innovations in medical science — AACB AIMS 2016 Combined Scientific Meeting

Tuesday, 19 July, 2016

Innovations in medical science — AACB AIMS 2016 Combined Scientific Meeting

With the conference theme ‘Innovations in Medical Science’, the AACB 54th Annual Scientific Conference and the AIMS 46th National Scientific Meeting have combined to create an exciting meeting with an outstanding program of keynote international and local speakers, a number of oral and poster opportunities, a great social program and an extensive industry exhibition.

The scientific program runs over three days and includes plenary and concurrent sessions, multidisciplinary sessions, workshops, industry symposia, posters and oral sessions.

Sessions and topics being covered include: Liver fibrosis markers, Anti-microbial resistance/stewardship, Emergency haematology, Cancer markers, Advances in laboratory testing during pregnancy, Quality assurance, The Frozen Blood Project and more.


  • Pre-analytical
  • Coagulation
  • Antibiotics and antibiotic resistance

Satellite meetings

  • AACB 5th Harmonisation Workshop: 12 September
  • Chromatography Mass Spectrometry (CMS) Satellite Meeting: 16 September
  • Quality Control Workshop Part 4: 16 September

Keynote speakers:

  • David Rothfield Memorial Oration: Professor Jeremy K Nicholson, Professor of Biological Chemistry, Head of the Department of Surgery, Cancer and Interventional Medicine, Director of the MRC-NIHR National Phenome Centre, Director of the Centre for Gut and Digestive Health (Institute of Global Health Innovation), Faculty of Medicine, Imperial College London.
  • David Curnow Plenary Lecture: Associate Professor Ken Sikaris, Chemical Pathologist, Melbourne Pathology; Director of Clinical Support Services, IT Division, Sonic Healthcare, Melbourne.
  • Mr Paul Epner, Executive Vice President, Co-Founder & Director, Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine; Chair, Coalition to Improve Diagnosis, USA.
  • Prof Stefan Grebe, Professor of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology, Mayo College of Medicine USA.
  • Dr Lester Levy, Chairman, Auckland and Waitemata District Health Boards, the Health Research Council and Auckland Transport, Auckland NZ.
  • Dr Delia Nelson: Senior Research Fellow, Faculty of Health Sciences, School of Biomedical Sciences, Curtin University, Perth.
  • Colonel Michael Reade: Defence Professor of Military Medicine and Surgery, Joint Health Command.
  • Director of Clinical Services, 2nd General Health Battalion, Qld, Australia.
  • Professor William Rosenberg: Peter Scheuer Chair in Hepatology, University College London; Clinical Lead for Viral Hepatitis, Royal Free Hospital, London.
  • Dr James Winearls: Consultant Intensivist, Gold Coast University Hospital, Gold Coast.


The Australasian Association of Clinical Biochemists (AACB) was founded in 1961 with the following objectives:

  • To advance the study and practice of clinical biochemistry.
  • To disseminate knowledge of the principles and practice of clinical biochemistry.
  • To protect and promote the interests of clinical biochemists.


The focus of the Australian Institute of Medical Scientists (AIMS) is to equip medical diagnostic professionals with the tools, information and networks to ensure the provision of quality and world-class medical science services in Australia and overseas. The professional body represents all disciplines of medical science and the community of over 23,000 medical diagnostic professionals working throughout Australia.

Related Articles

GMP warehouse mapping: step-by-step guidelines for validating life science storage facilities

Good manufacturing practice (GMP) regulators have sharpened their focus on warehouse storage and...

Budget 2021–2022: science helps secure Australia's recovery

The Australian Government has announced more than $475 million in its 2021–22 Budget to...

2020 Eureka Prizes go to a 'milkshake for malaria', ABC's Coronacast and an energy-making sewerage system

The prizes, presented by the Australian Museum, acknowledge a diverse group of brilliant minds...

  • All content Copyright © 2021 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd