Applications now open for Scopus Researcher Awards

Tuesday, 15 October, 2019

Applications now open for Scopus Researcher Awards

Applications are open for the Scopus Researcher Awards, recognising outstanding researchers in Australia and New Zealand who have made significant contributions to their fields and areas of research.

Part of a global initiative by Elsevier to advance the frontiers of science across a broad range of disciplines, this year’s awards will feature three new categories:

  • Excellence in Research Impacting a Sustainable Future
  • Excellence in Research Impacting Global Health
  • Excellence in Outstanding Early Career Research

In each category, judges are looking for individuals who have undertaken high-quality, rigorous research that has had a significant impact. The winner for each category will receive a $1000 cash prize and a plaque, and be invited to an award ceremony at University of New South Wales on Tuesday, 19 November 2019.

“The awards are a way to give recognition and a well-deserved boost to the promising careers of talented scientists across Australia and New Zealand,” said Richard Baskus, Regional Director at Elsevier.

“Winners will receive international visibility that raises their profile and helps connect them with new collaborators. Some of the past winners have taken on executive roles in research while others continue to collaborate nationally or internationally to make new discoveries for humankind,” he said.

Elsevier Manager Macy Lee said, “The awards have grown in scope and significance since the inception, and Elsevier has introduced categories that include sustainability challenges and diversity to reflect current focus.

“Since the inception, the awards have attracted an increasing stream of high-quality applications from across Australia and New Zealand, and we’ve recognised 25 brilliant researchers and over 50 finalists to date.”

Applicants should specifically address how their work meets the judging criteria. A full list if eligibility requirements, judging criteria and category applications can be found here.

Applications close Thursday, 31 October, 19:00 AEST.

Image credit: © lim

Please follow us and share on Twitter and Facebook. You can also subscribe for FREE to our weekly newsletters and bimonthly magazine.

Originally published here.

Related News

New agreement to accelerate nutrition testing worldwide

Trajan Nutrition has signed an MOU with the South Australian Health and Medical Research...

Abcam purchases assets from Applied StemCell

Abcam has announced the asset purchase of the gene editing platform and oncology product...

Aussie astronomer Lisa Kewley wins James Craig Watson Medal

Professor Lisa Kewley has been awarded the 2020 James Craig Watson Medal by the US National...

  • All content Copyright © 2020 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd